Cannot install rocket plugin!

Hi,

First I am new to mac’s. I run logic 8 with a MBP.

I cannot install the evaluation version of Rocket plug.
I download the AU version. But I am curious about this, because I should install it in the Librady-Audio-Plugins-Components, and my Mac has 2 places for this.

One is Macintosh HD–Library–Audio–Plugins–Components
and the other is Macintosh HD–Users-Myname–Library–Audio–Plugins–Components

Why do they both exist? Each Plugins folder is different from the other and I did put the Component file on both of these folders and Logic didn’t recognize them.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

There are two different directories because if you’re not an administrator user on the Mac, you can’t put files in /Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components. Plugins in that directory are available to host programs no matter who’s logged in, though. If you put them in Your Home Directory/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components, they’re only available if you are logged in…if someone else logs in, those plugins aren’t available.

The two directories are standard Mac OS X locations…has nothing to do with The Rocket in particular.

You should only place the plugin in ONE of the locations, preferably NOT the user directory.

Remove one of the copies and make sure that there is only one…then clear Logic’s plugin information cache and re-try. I’ve used the plugs in Logic 8 and know that they work.

Regards,

Scott

OK thanks for the reply.

I did put the RocketAU.component file in the mbp’s library–audio–plugins–components folder, but logic cannot recognize it.

I deleted the component file from my own library as you told me, and did reset and rescan logic for au plugins.

Anything you can suggest?

Thanks

I just installed the same way some other au plugins and worked OK.

Logic doesnt recognize stillwell plugins

I am on a late 08 macbook pro, leopard 10.5.6

I am running Logic Express 8.0.2 here on a Mac Mini running Leopard 10.5.5…no problems.